“Get your nose up!”

I was hearing this again through the night, “get the nose up!” I don’t know why or how, but this phrase always speaks volumes to me. I think it’s because the preacher who used it as an illustration is a pilot  and a storyteller. So as he’s storytelling, I am getting the picture. If you don’t get the nose up on a plane as you are headed down the runway, you will just go faster and faster, faster and faster, faster and faster … and eventually crash into whatever is at the end of the runway. Such a picture to me … funny and tragic simultaneously.

As a human creature, it’s not natural to fly, but yet, on the inside of me is this desire to always go up, get out, push past, breakthrough, soar, press beyond the boundaries, be more, succeed, do better, conquer. Now before I yielded to the Lordship of Jesus, my own rebellious ways took me to many, not so good places. Some still hang around cause my flesh thinks it might seem just a bit too much to do it God’s way. But, as the sanctified me, I gotta get my nose up per God’s instructions. The Master Storyteller painted this picture for me from the Proverbs this morning … His spin, His persuasion, His sentiment for me today …

Blessed is the one who always trembles before God  … “Trembles” talks to me.

So I say with my mouth, “Today I’m getting my nose up. I throw away my way of thinking and being and “tremble” before You … My God … listening to Your thoughts and Your ways of doing what needs to be done today. Thank You”.

Blessed is the one who always trembles before God, but whoever hardens their heart falls into trouble. PROVERBS 28:14 NIV

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

