thanksgiving as a weapon …

The other day I heard in my heart, “remember to give thanks”. I saw it, did it some, but didn’t really take hold of the instruction. Yesterday it came to me again, but it still didn’t take hold like I now realize it could’ve. It’s been sort of foggy and muggy in my mind the last few days … kinda slowed down … like my rhythm was off … my soul and body not fully engaged.

I’ve been, by the help of God, more faithfully all the time confessing my love for Him and others. So, thank God, that has been workin’ in me … and last night I began to perceive strength and greater clarity begin to rise up from my innards. But, this morning the breakthrough came. I heard “use thanksgiving like a weapon” somewhere in my waking up. Ah, yes! It flooded through me … LIGHT … like a light bulb going on. This is familiar to me … I’ve used this many times in the course of my life in God. Hopped in the shower, began speaking it out; drying my hair, speaking it out … energy, joy, power began to rise up. I was finally tuned to the right station, right channel … the signal was comin’ through loud and clear. Glory! Opened up my daily Bible reading … I almost always start with the Psalms … always has been one of my favorite books. David was penning just what I needed to hear. The words exploded like a rocket and now! Today is under my belt! … by the mercy and grace and love and loyalty and faithfulness of my Daddy God, my big brother, Jesus, and the mighty Spirit of God livin’ in me.

So I’m saying,  “Thank You for the MERCY I asked You for; Thank You for this GRACE, Your Divine Assistance that’s overflowingly helping in all these different areas just like I asked; Thank You that it’s all workin’ in me and for me just like You said. Forgive me for being glib about Your instructions.

I DID make my petitions about these different things. You HEARD my prayers. And You HAVE answered me just like You said You would. So I’m following Your instructions and giving thanks … not wimpy thanks, but on purpose, deliberately spoken, precisely aimed, accurately executed thanksgiving and praise for what You’ve said You’ve done. You’re the Together One! You know what You’re doin’! So I’m workin’ with You today and USING THANKSGIVING LIKE A WEAPON just like You’ve faithfully shown me through the years. It does amazing, awesome things in me, like it did this morning … and only You know and can see what it’s doin’ for me out in the realms of the unseen. You’re so smart, wise and just plain WONDERFUL!!! I LOVE YOU!!!! I take all of this. I have it. I thank You, and I REALLY forgive … attentively and purposefully, as You’ve forgiven me. All in Jesus name!”

PHILIPPIANS 4:6-7   Don’t worry about anything, but in everything, through prayer and petition with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses every thought, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.   HCSB

PHILIPPIANS 4:6-7   Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.   MSG

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

