slow dance …

Somewhere within the first few waking hours of each day I purposely pray a time in tongues. I pray, spilling out from my heart with words that the Spirit of God puts in my mouth, beyond my understanding; with words in a language not known to me. I pray this way till it seems like a plumb full squeeze bottle is emptied on the inside of me. This morning there was so much … it just seemed to spill and spill and pour and pour. I finally turned on one of my You Tube play-lists of God-inspired instrumentals.

Up to then I’d been sort of pacing back and forth through my apartment, but while the music was playing, I soon found myself, eyes closed, swaying back and forth as if in a slow dance with someone … someone who adored me, who was lovingly lingering on every thought I expressed. I was, at that moment, everything to them. As my head rested on His shoulder, I was able to keep on spilling till all that was in me was poured out … and it was a lot. Some with sobs, some with yearning, some with pleading as I thought on those close to my heart, some was just a pure stream of communion with the One I love … all this in an unknown language of the Spirit.

I poured till it just seemed that was nothing left to pour … a quiet powerful satisfaction that I had finally emptied everything in there … at least for now 🙂

I’m saying, “Thank You to the One who loves me as much as He loves Jesus; to the One Who loves me with all His heart, adoringly, tenderly, mercifully … beyond all I can comprehend. Thank You.”

1 CORINTHIANS 14:2,4,5,17   For one who speaks in an [unknown] tongue speaks not to men but to God, for no one understands or catches his meaning, because in the Spirit he utters secret truths and hidden things [not obvious to the understanding] … He who speaks in a [strange] tongue edifies and improves himself … To be sure, you … give thanks well …   AMP

ACTS 2:4,39   And they were all filled (diffused throughout their souls) with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other (different, foreign) languages (tongues), as the Spirit kept giving them clear and loud expression [in each tongue in appropriate words] … For the promise [of the Holy Spirit] is to and for you and your children, and to and for all that are far away, [even] to and for as many as the Lord our God invites and bids to come to Himself.   AMP

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

