always more to go …

A true competitor is always pressing further, be it athletics, mental disciplines, the arts. If they’re not competing against others, they ‘re always pressing to go further than they’ve ever gone before.They know there’s always more to go.

I didn’t know that I was lingering around “weary”, but God, my wonderful Daddy God, my tender Shepherd, Jesus, are seeing something I’m not, so I’m takin’ my cue from them. I will NOT lean to my own understanding. I’m hearing, “there’s more … gotta keep moving”. I’ve got many places to go, many things to do in my life. If I don’t keep pressing to that new level everyday, I won’t get there.

I’m reminded of an illustration that one of my favorite ministers, Jerry Savelle, used years ago. He likened life to a river. It’s water always moving downstream. Man is in that river by default, just a goin’ down with the flow … not knowing that the mouth of the river spits him straight into hell. Man hears some Good News and gets born again. He automatically climbs into a life-raft equipped with paddles. He starts paddling upstream cause now he knows where this river is taking him and he’s made that forever decision that he’s not goin’ there. After a while he gets weary of continually paddling against the flow so he takes a little nap, wakes up, finds himself drifting way back downstream. He sets to paddling again. He’s heard some Good News about God’s love. He’s heard that if he keeps movin’ upstream, help will come. But, again, he gets tired and relaxes his paddling a little only to hear the sound of a motor. Hey! that guy’s got a motor-boat! He yells out. The other believer slows down, preaches a little more Good News about the empowering of the Holy Spirit. They pray. He gets baptized in the Holy Spirit with the evidence of speakin’ in tongues. He’s off. They both set off in their motor-boat. He’s a prayin’ and singin’ in the Spirit as he guides that little boat upstream. Whoops! Pain in the body … waves of sick flow over him. He lets go of the tiller, lies down and the boat takes off down stream. One of his traveling buddies notices he’s not in the group, turns around in his motorized sail boat, finds him, preaches some Good News to him about the healing power of God. He gets healed. They both set off in their boats equipped with motors and sails. And so on. What the minister was saying is with each revelation of God’s love and plan for our life, comes more power and equipment to handle that trip upstream. The trip is always against the course of this world that’s headed to destruction, but there’s always MORE GRACE, MORE STRENGTH, MORE VISION, MORE OF WHATEVER WE NEED TO GET TO OUR DESTINATION.

I’m saying, “I stir myself up. I’m asking for Your help, Lord. I’m asking for Mercy and Grace today to overcome weariness. I didn’t know I was growing weary, but I’ll always listen to Your counsel. I’m asking You to continue to flood the eyes of my understanding with light so I can SEE more – whatever REVEALING by Your Spirit You have for me so I understand and know You better and know who I am in You. Show me any areas where I’ve grown slack in doing what I know to do. I want to keep movin’ upstream with You, and on the way, help others in their journey. I take this. I take the Grace, the Mercy, the Strength, the Power, the Wisdom, the Vision … all that You have for me to be refreshed and equipped for ‘always more to go”. I have this. I thank You, and I forgive and love as You forgive and love me, always so mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

GALATIANS 6:7-10    Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap. For he who sows to his flesh will of the flesh reap corruption, but he who sows to the Spirit will of the Spirit reap everlasting life … And let us not lose heart and GROW WEARY and faint in acting nobly and doing right, for in due time and at the appointed season we shall reap, if we do not loosen and relax our courage and faint … Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all, especially to those who are of the household of faith.   NKJ & AMP

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

