a slave …

Again, leaping out, catching my attention this morning in my daily Bible reading, Paul starting out Romans … “This letter is from Paul, a SLAVE of Christ Jesus …” ROMANS 1:1 NLT  This term always hits me smack dab in the middle of my heart. Some versions say “servant”, so I looked it up in my online Strong’s Concordance cause slave hits me harder than servant. The Greek word is used for both. Basically it means:
– slave
– one who gives himself up to another’s will
– devoted to another to the disregard of one’s own interests
– a servant, attendant

Jesus said, as He was washing His disciples feet, “I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.”   JOHN 13:15   NIV

I’m saying, “By Your Spirit, I’m asking You to help me examine my heart today, to help me check out my motives, my modus operandi. I really do desire to follow You, to walk in the Light as You do. And Your Word assures me that I can because through You I can do anything. And the great thing is, that by following this example, I get what You got here on this earth … and You said You were always in the Presence of our Father God where there is FULLNESS OF JOY … and I do like Joy. In God’s Presence! That’s worth any and everything. To help me out here I’m gonna start saying ‘I am a slave of Jesus Christ’. It sounds strange to my flesh, but I believe it’ll be good for my heart. I take this. I have it. I thank You, and I forgive as You’ve forgiven me. So Mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

