my identity …

If I look for my identity in what I do, how I dress, even how I think and communicate I’m gonna be a very shallow person, and with no power. What could any of these things do for me if I was lost out in the wilds somewhere? or alone in a foreign country, a foreign world?

What if I’d been separated from Amanda (my daughter) in China in a city teeming with millions of people with language and customs alien to me; or stranded in some remote place cause of a natural disaster? How much will my identity matter?

It will matter EVERYTHING!

If I’m a “self-made” man/person, then all I have to rely on in my identity is the power, wisdom, intuitiveness that I can create.

I stood on the sidewalk in Hangzhou, China … by myself just for a few minutes. I looked around and KNEW on the inside of me that the particular place I was at that moment was not a safe place to be completely alone – cut off from Amanda or someone familiar to me. With no fear, but just for a flash of a second, I saw what not good things could easily happen in that time and space. In the same flash of a second, I was SO thankful for my identity … Who I belong to; Who will never leave me; Who is my constant companion; Who will save me from whatever I need saving from; Who is more powerful and wise than ANY other being – the Spirit of the Living God Who lives in me! My identity is in Him – what He’s made me to be in Jesus – a child of the Most High God! He loves me as much as He loves Jesus!

I’m saying, “Thank You my God Who loves me so much that You came Yourself to this earth to take on my old identity of a powerless and hopeless person, live and die for me so I could be free and live in eternalness with You as Your child; never be separated from You again; be loved and cared for just as if I were Your only child. Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! I can’t put into words how thankful I am. But, You know what? I can ask You for more Grace to communicate it effectively, so, that’s what I’m here to do. I take it! I have it! Thank You, and I choose to love and forgive like You’ve loved and forgiven me … so Mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

JOHN 17:23  I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.   NIV

GALATIANS 6:15   For neither is circumcision of any importance, nor un-circumcision, but [only] a new creation [the result of a new birth and a new nature in Christ Jesus, the Messiah].   AMP

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

