to know or to do …

Sitting in on a conversation last night after church I quietly made a comment, more to myself than anyone else, but the comment kinda echoed in my mind.

This early, early morning I awoke with a question. Immediately a verse came to my mind. It was the same one that I had made the comment on the night before. I haven’t the slightest what the question was … more important, apparently, was the answer. Whenever I wake up with a Bible verse coming up from inside me, I pay attention.

I say over myself often Proverbs 6:22 – “When I go the Word leads me; when I sleep the Word keeps me; when I awake the Word talks to me.” I love the Word talking to me when I wake up. I’ve gotten so many answers to bothersome situations, dilemmas, challenges by the Word talking to me in the early morning hours. I’m looking for it every morning.

So, wee hours of the morning, I grab my phone thinking I know right where that verse is located (I’ve a Bible application on my phone –  love it!). It wasn’t there. Tried just going chapter by chapter, verse by verse, but I was just a little too sleepy.

I did find the verse the next waking. The part I thought I was quoting, and I had been saying as long as I can remember from JOHN 7:17 was “If anyone desires to KNOW God’s will, he will have the needed illumination” … the emphasis on if anyone DESIRES TO KNOW God’s will. I spent some time just looking and reading the verse over and over, listening for what the Lord was wanting to get over to me and really was not seeing it apply to anything in particular. As I read and re-read I suddenly saw what I was skimming over and not seeing … it is NOT anyone who DESIRES TO KNOW, but DESIRES TO DO!!!!!!!!!

What a difference a word made!

I’m saying, “For one thing, Lord, I’m gonna pay more attention to what I think I’m quoting. Thank You for Your Spirit of Truth who is in me to guide me into all Truth … for me, for others. I don’t wanna be telling others, “if you’ll just desire to KNOW God, you’ll understand what to do or believe or think” … no! For me, for others, it’s if I really desire to DO Your will, I’ll know for sure what to do, what to think, what to believe. Thank You for being so faithful to correct me, help me, discipline me, teach me, lead me so I do KNOW  You. But, it’s so that I will DO … SO THAT all the good You’ve planned, promised, and stored up for me can flood into my life. I take this. I have it. I thank You, and I forgive and love as You’ve forgiven and love me. All in Jesus name.”

JOHN 7:17    If any man desires to do His will (God’s pleasure), he will know (have the needed illumination to recognize, and can tell for himself) whether the teaching is from God or whether I am speaking from Myself and of My own accord and on My own authority.   AMP

PROVERBS 6:22   When you go, they [the words of your parents’ God] shall lead you; when you sleep, they shall keep you; and when you waken, they shall talk with you.    AMP

By the way … I looked up many translations to  confirm that it was DO, not KNOW … yup! It really is to DO, not KNOW 🙂

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

