only good …

My God is ONLY GOOD! There’s nothin’ twisted in Him. He doesn’t say one thing and do another. Jesus IS the perfect imprint and very image of my Father God, and He only went about doing good and healing all those oppressed of the devil when He walked this earth; He only came to give Life in abundance till it absolutely overflowed!

Young in the Lord … fresh out of hippie-dom and with a brain fried from psychedelics, my Merciful Savior surrounded me with cassettes and books with faith-filled information, and music straight from the heart of God. Janny Grein (Sparrow Records) had just come out with an album with music absolutely chalk-full of the Word of God and I listened to it all the time.

I was attending a Pentecostal church filled with loving people, but not necessarily filled with the Word. By what they said, you never knew what God was gonna do … heal or not heal, condemn or not condemn, cause you do be in an accident or deliver you … and so on.

But I was hearing something different through these cassettes and books. God was healing my scarred mind through the reading of this little Good News for Modern Man New Testament someone had given me (had these little illustrations that were medicine to my brain cells). Everything I was meditating on was lining up with the Word. The one thing that somehow God instilled in me the moment I was converted was … I only needed one handbook. It was the Bible. If the Bible said so, then that was my final word on any subject. I was so free!

The “Preach” came on me one service, and I asked if I could sing a song … Count It All Joy by Janny. I sang it acapella and somehow kept perfect pitch by the Grace of God. When it came to the lines, “let no man say, I’m being tempted of the Lord, for God Himself will tempt no man. Every good thing, and every perfect gift come from above from the Father”, I belted it with every fiber of my being. I was not going to let anyone tell me that my God was not good; that He would do anything evil … tempt, test or try me! It may have been a little brazen, but I was young and innocent in the Lord … very child-like. I was not about to let anyone say anything bad about my tender, compassionate Jesus who had just pulled me out this escalating spiral straight into hell, spirited by a self-destruct mode working in me. He was and is my everything. He is ONLY GOOD!

I’m saying these words of an old hymn by John W Peterson:

“O what a wonderful, wonderful day – day I will never forget; After I’d wandered in darkness away, Jesus my Saviour I met.
O what a tender, compassionate friend – He met the need of my heart;
Shadows dispelling, With joy I am telling, He made all the darkness depart.
Chorus:
Heaven came down and glory filled my soul,
When at the cross the Saviour made me whole;
My sins were washed away –
And my night was turned to day –
Heaven came down and glory filled my soul!”

JAMES 1:13,17    Let no one say when he is tempted, I am tempted from God; for God is incapable of being tempted  by evil and He Himself tempts no one …  Every good gift and every perfect (free, large, full) gift is from above; it comes down from the Father of all [that gives] light, in [the shining of] Whom there can be no variation [rising or setting] or shadow cast by His turning [as in an eclipse].   AMP

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

