prayer …

Prayer … what an awesome, marvelous, staggeringly wonderful thing prayer is!

I was a recipient of the Grace of Prayer yesterday, and I’m so thankful.

It’s ALL God … the Power, the Goodness, the Mercy – His Love … that makes everything better in my life, but He’s used people, ones I’ve known and not known, all my life to PRAY OUT His protection, His care and deliverance over me.

A few things that transpired this last Sunday set me up for an odd emotional storm. I was doing a poor job of shaking it off. I needed help.

I know my help … real help can only come from God, so my heart was talkin’ to me yesterday … I needed a bunch of big extra doses of His Words in front of my eyes (called meditation). I knew I needed to just let those living Words do something in me … change me. I was weak. I was under an emotional attack and my defenses were down.

Someone close to me once shared what the Lord showed her … “the best defense is a good offense”. For me, the spiritual workout that produces the strongest and most amazing results in me is meditation … just setting a word, a verse, a portion out of the Bible before my eyes, reading it over and over, letting it roll around in my mind and heart. It’s like it does this osmosis in every cell of my brain and body, and my soul. It changes me.

So, I set about doing this … setting this one portion of a verse that had talked to me the other day before my eyes, rolled it over and over in my thinking, and then I just continued saying it as I walked out my day.

My pastor’s wife text me, said I was on her heart and she was praying for me. Wonderful! I’d asked my kids to be alert … if a thought of me came to their mind, to just pray in the Spirit for me.

I’m saying, “Thank You for Your Power, Your Goodness, Your Mercy, Your Presence that is released through prayer. Thank You for Your Word that’s exalted above everything, and is responsible for everything; Your Spirit in me who gives me understanding, who comforts and strengthens me. Thank You for being God to me! Now, help me be more alert in prayer for others, so Your Goodness can get to them when they need it. Thank You. I take this. I have it, and I forgive and love as You forgive and love me. All in Jesus name.”

COLOSSIANS 3:10   … and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.   NIV

JAMES 1:21   … receive and welcome the Word which implanted and rooted [in your hearts] contains the power to save your souls.   AMP

JAMES 5:16   … The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working].   AMP

PSALM 138:2   You have exalted above all else Your name and Your word and You have magnified Your word above all Your name!   AMP

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

