peace & rest …

Two of the most vital elements of my daily living … peace and rest. If I don’t have those working in me I know I’m off course.

When I was very young in this walk with Jesus … very young and very ignorant, God surrounded me with a group of people all gifted in different ways in the things of the Lord. Each helped raise up a standard of living in me that has proven invaluable (and I believe each is super rewarded for this :)) One was a mother of a plethora of kids, and, she always had the care of other people’s children. They ran the spectrum of ages, running in and out of the house, playing, planning, giggling and laughing … a little crying here and there. Their kitchen was huge in my memory and food was always within easy reach.

This woman, at least at that time, was the master of letting peace govern her every decision and situation. If she found herself in a state of unrest, and peace had flown the coup, she would simply sit down in a chair and quiet herself, pray in tongues, until she had regained that inner peace and had gotten the wisdom she needed to restore comfort, peace and rest for herself, her home and for whoever or whatever was being agitated. And … she did this right in the midst of holding a baby on her lap, children cavorting, phone ringing, dinner cooking … She absolutely refused to lose her peace; to lose that place of rest.

I’m saying, “I’m thanking You that no matter what’s happening around me, You’ve promised me peace and rest. It’s mine for the taking … and that’s what I always wanna remember … that it’s my part, my responsibility to take it. It’s not gonna fall in my lap. In this world there’s gonna be many challenges, but You said, don’t fear and don’t be anxious about anything, but to let the peace that passes all understanding mount guard over my heart and mind. I take this. I have it. I thank You, and I choose to forgive and love as You’ve forgiven and love me … so Mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

PHILIPPIANS 4:6-7   Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.   MSG

JOHN 14:27    Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]   AMP

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

