cause I said so …

Even though I was passive on the outside while growing up, there was a rebellious streak that began very early in me. I didn’t like being told what to do. If pressed I’d become even more obstinate. As an adult I spent 10 long years of my life in complete rebellion to authority on every level … being rescued at the end only by the utter Mercy of God.

In this Mercy, like I said yesterday, the Lord surrounded me with people, all varied in strengths and gifts, who helped equip me with a standard of living that’s kept me all these years, and which helped eradicate the rebellion. It’s all wrapped up in the words of Jesus mother when at the wedding they ran out of wine and she said to those serving … “Whatever he tells you, do it.”

I know one reason I want to live like this … “whatever He says, do it” … is because it can be a matter of living or dying. Learning to obey God without question can mean the difference between living out my full life, or going home to heaven early.

We never know when the moment will come and we hear or sense to do something suddenly with no thought as to why.

All of this about obeying, obeying quickly, obeying without knowing why, was something I’d been thinking about this morning. I was pondering it as I was driving back from a walk in the canyon … a wonderful break from all this unpacking and going through boxes and boxes sorting and eliminating. Suddenly on the road in front of me there was a T-turn … ya know, where you can’t go straight, but have to turn left or right. The sign indicated to turn right as if that was the way the main road would go, but I turned left instead with just the briefest thought to do that. Immediately I recognized that I was on a little side-street and off the main road. Swinging into a driveway to turn around, I had the thought to check my phone as its little whistle indicated I had messages. While reading them I began reflecting on what had just happened. I’ve driven this way many times and that intersection just did not seem familiar to me. I’d never been confused by it before. Coming back on the main road I couldn’t even find signage that had prompted me to make that “wrong turn”. Right then, my inner KNOWER acknowledged that I had just done “whatever He says, do”. Whatever it was …maybe a correction of my timing so I would be in the right place at the right time and not the wrong place at the wrong time … whatever it was, I KNEW that I had just experienced what I had been pondering … doing something just “cause I said so” … the “I” being God; that somehow I’d just experienced salvation of some kind.

I’m saying, “I’m so thankful that You’re continually at work in me saving me, helping me, protecting me, caring for me. Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! Help me to increase in listening and obeying immediately; to know You and Your inner leading; to be so much more sensitive to immediately obeying so, not only am I protected and saved, but I’m a salvation for those around me who may be unaware that You just want to protect and save and be good to them. I take this. I have it. I thank You, and I WILL to forgive and love as You forgive and love me … so Mercifully. All in Jesus name.

PROVERBS 16:1   We can make our own plans, but the Lord gives the right answer.   MSG

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

