like a dog with a bone …

Having had dogs in my home most of my adult years, I’ve had upfront and in your face exposure to their particulars. One thing you don’t want to do is mess with their bone. Now, we’ve had dogs with varying personalities – some more aggressive about their bones than others. The dogs who became fast and long-term members of the family 🙂 were the ones whose eyes adored you; eyes that spoke volumes about, “I will never turn on you, I will never bite you or do you harm” … all the while in lock-down on a bone with their mouth saying, “no way am I gonna release possession of this”; who kept their bone, not with violence, but the sheer tenacity of not letting go. Sometimes, if the bone was obnoxiously smelly or whatever, I’d have to trick them into letting go – like giving them a new bone or something scrumptious, or pretending like I didn’t want it and wait for that second where they let go to lick it or readjust their bite, or maybe even go bury it. I had to be very sneaky 🙂

That’s  how I’ve learned to be with the things of God – what He’s promised and already given to me in His Word and I’ve decided to receive it; to take it NOW. I get in lock down with my faith and patience till I see what’s mine in the God-realm get manifest in the messed up world of here and now.

Some things, just through experience, are easier for me to hold fast and not let go. Others have been and are more challenging.

I’m saying, “I WILL to be consistent in every area of my life – the holding fast and not letting go, even for a second, the things I know are given to me by You, and that I’ve decided I’m gonna receive – to take. I’m gonna be more disciplined about the practice of being thankful always, of decreeing and declaring what’s mine in Christ Jesus, of obeying the smallest promptings in my heart so I’m always in the right place at the right time doing the right thing with the right people. I recognize that the devil, my enemy, is always looking for me to be distracted – even just for a second, so he can mess things up. I’m asking You for Greater Grace to help me get really strong in this … like a dog with a bone. I take it. I have it. I thank You, and I forgive and love even as You forgive and love me. All in Jesus name.”

HEBREWS 6:12   We do not want any of you to grow slack, but to follow the example of those who through sheer patient faith came to possess the promises.   PHILLIPS

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

