a secret place …

When I was little I loved finding secret places … hiding spaces made by my dad’s massive Rhododendrons,  secret rooms formed in the middle of huge overgrown bushes, brush covered mossy places near the creek in the middle of the woods near us.

Older now, but still a child at heart, I’ve found the most precious secret place … it’s not an earth-bound space. I can go there anytime. It’s a spot in God where I know I’m completely safe … it’s always full of peace, and full of well-being. It’s a time and space where the things of God … what He’s saying, Who He is, how much He loves me/us … are all so clear. It’s a location of absolutely no pretense. I love this spot more than anyplace I’ve ever found.

God says that I can live here my whole life, but so far and sadly, I find I don’t stay here 24-7. And when I haven’t been here for a while and somehow, by His Grace and Mercy, I slip into this space, I’m overwhelmed by the fact that I somehow strayed outside of it … it’s soooooo good.

At that point, I always reflect on how I discovered it again or how I strayed. I find that it’s, many times, a small adjustment correcting a wrong attitude. A lot of times it’s that plain old cares have distracted me and I’ve overstepped the bounds of what I’m responsible for and what only God can take care of.  It’s the times where my trust has been misplaced. Yesterday I experienced correcting something that seemed small, but the effect was huge.

The entry to this secret place had just gotten obscured by my stepping beyond my realm of authority … the place where I’m made to be, and given the rights and privileges to move within.

I’m saying, “God Almighty, my Father God, this coming year and on into the future I’m magnifying … making much of Your Mercy and Grace, and I’m asking for Greater Grace to help me stay planted in this secret place with You. This is the place where I’m most fruitful, most lovely, most loving, and most pleasing to You. I wanna live here permanently. It’s Your will. I take this. I have it. I thank You and I will to forgive and love as You forgive and love me … so Mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

PSALMS 25:14   The secret [of the sweet, satisfying companionship] of the Lord have they who fear (revere and worship) Him, and He will show them His covenant and reveal to them its [deep, inner] meaning.   AMP

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

