forgetting the past …

A baby that’s considered developing normally keeps trying to walk until they get it right – until they can get from one place to another. Once they’ve got it down there’s no stopping them.

That’s the way it should be the rest of our lives – doing whatever we desire to do until we get it right. Always progressing. Always moving forward.

For many reasons, though, as I got older … and it seems to be common for all … failure or hard times tended to shape my future more and more. I’d quit before accomplishing something if it got too difficult. Or I’d settle for less than the best. As time passed, I wouldn’t even bother to attempt something, even if I really wanted to, if I associated it to previous failure or hard times.

That’s changing though, cause I don’t want to fail in spiritual things. I want to know God. I want to walk with Jesus. I want to be someone He can use to help others. But, if I don’t keep pressing towards a goal despite difficulties, it’s very clear to me now that I will not fulfill what I really desire.

I have to make a conscious decision that my past is not going to limit my future. Daily, I have to incite my determination to reach the desired end. The guy who wrote most of the New Testament … Paul, said it very well:

I want to know Christ … the mighty power that raised him from the dead …  I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved … or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection … No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.  PHILIPPIANS 3:10-14   NLT

Forgetting the past – I press!!!!!

I’m saying, “Thank God, and I mean it, Thank You God, that I don’t have to create the desire or the power to reach the goal. Like a baby, you put that desire in me when I was born again. I just have to stir it up. Then, with my decision, Your power kicks in. You’re doing the work in me. Where I’m weak, You’re strong. It doesn’t matter how many times I have to start over, or, get up when I fall. With You, I play till I win! Thank You! I can do all things through the strength that You infuse in me. I take this. I have it. I thank You, and I WILL to forgive and love as You’ve forgiven and do love me … so Mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

PHILIPPIANS 2:13   For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him.   NLT

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

