prudence = keeping foot out of one’s mouth …

Is there anyone who has NEVER said something and as soon as it passed through these lip gates regretted having put it out there? I don’t think there is such a person.

I can recall numerous recent conversations that a situation would have gone another way … and certainly more positively, if I just exercised more PRUDENCE!

The word seems a little archaic for everyday speech but it’s rich in meaning.

Merriam-Webster Dictionary:

  • “the ability to govern and discipline oneself by the use of reason” … LOVE THIS ONE – means GOVERN MYSELF TO USE MY REASONING POWERS  TO KNOW THAT I NEED TO RUN to the Creator of All and get God-wisdom for right words and God-power to say it at the right time … or not say it at all!
  • “shrewdness” – analyze by God alone and in a God-inspired millisecond how these words are going to affect the situation and act accordingly … immediately!
  • “caution or circumspection as to danger or risk” – complete dependence on the ever-present Helper, the Spirit of God within me to, in a nano-second of time, see everything I need to see, see it His way, and do it in His timing, not mine!
  • “skill and good judgment in the use of resources” – knowing I need and I have the Spirit of Truth within me to illuminate my mind and give direction to my heart in any situation, and at any time!

It all comes back to God! I need Him every day, every hour, every second, and I have Him!

I’m saying, “It’s time for me to take a refresher course on right and good words. I’m coming boldly to this marvelous Throne of Grace, where all Wisdom, Knowledge, Understanding and Prudence make their home, knowing it is ALL available to me just for the asking and taking. I’m asking for more Mercy and Greater Grace to help me refresh myself in Prudence, especially for right and good words spoken at the right time. I take it. I have it. I thank You, and I WILL to forgive and love even as You’ve forgiven and love me … so Mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

PROVERBS FOR ME TO REMEMBER:

PROVERBS 25:11   A well-spoken word at just the right moment
    is like golden apples in settings of silver.   VOICE

PROVERBS 8:12   I, Wisdom [from God], make prudence my dwelling …   AMP

PROVERBS 12:23   Prudent people don’t flaunt their knowledge;
    talkative fools broadcast their silliness.   MSG

PROVERBS 13:3   Those who guard their speech insure they will take another breath,
    but those who talk without thinking guarantee their demise.   VOICE

PROVERBS 14:8   The prudent understand where they are going,
    but fools deceive themselves.   NLT

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

