the pruning “ouch” …

Silly as it may seem, I often apologize to my houseplants when I’m pruning them, or splitting them to make new plants … especially if I end up ripping them, or my clipper is not big enough or strong enough to make the cut and it get’s to be a harsh process. I mean! really! it can’t feel good.

Same for me … when the Vine Keeper (my Father God) is pruning me so I can produce better fruit off the Vine (Jesus), it’s not always pleasant.

I just heard someone describing what I was attempting to describe in yesterday’s post, but she called it pruning. That process seemed really appropriate to what’s happenin’.

We just had a powerful prayer conference at our church. There was an explosion in me to reach much higher and much deeper then ever before. To effect this growth I’m seeing the Vine Keeper is addressing some things in my life that need changing.

By the Grace of God, I walk clean; I walk honest, but there are things I don’t see … a lot-ta things 🙂  I know there are habits that need changing, ways I do things, time I spend on things, priorities, procrastinations … the love walk … that in itself needs a lot of work.

All this adds up to one other word … DISCIPLINE.

2 things I’ve learned about discipline 🙂 …

1) Words. It all starts with Words. Quick … speak only what He says I can do, can be, can have. It sets me on the right course, and, the very power in His Words em-power me to do, be, and have.

2) Spend time listening, reading and meditating on His Words so I can see what to do, how to do it, and do it right. It’s so easy for me to assume that once I see what needs to be done that I know what and how to do it … this is a BIG MISTAKE!

So I’m saying, “Here I am Lord, again at the Throne of Grace asking for MERCY and more GRACE to receive the pruning; to see Your Wisdom … showing me where to go in Your Word to facilitate making these changes; to help me press beyond any weaknesses and condemnation; to enable me to receive correction with humility, and an eagerness to do it Your way. Thank You so much. I loooooooove You! I take this. I have it, and I WILL to forgive and love as You’ve forgiven and love me … so Mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

JOHN 15:1-3    “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you.   NIV

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

