gotta practice …

Why is it my humanness is so repulsed at the word, “practice”.

It’s the vision and smarting muscle-memories of days gone by; the pains of stretching beyond previous limitations; the embarrassments of failed endeavors …

Hey! Let’s get real! It’s just that putting it off till tomorrow is so easy! The good thoughts are so much more comfortable than the corresponding actions!

Laziness I think is the appropriate word here 🙂

Same with spiritual things … putting off till tomorrow will not benefit me growing into all the good things that were provided through Jesus to stand right, holy, blameless before God … AS IF SIN HAS NEVER TOUCHED ME.

EPHESIANS 4:24   Put on your new nature, created to be like God—truly righteous and holy.   NLT

I gotta practice all day long PUTTING ON rightness before God … thinking His thoughts, saying His words, seeing things the way He sees them, acting the way He acts. It takes discipline to PUT ON all day every day.

Really, it takes like a no-turning back commitment to practice when I feel dirty like a dog because of the way I treated someone; when I feel like I’ve missed it one time too many; when dark is looking totally black; when slow to happen is slowed to standstill; when lonesomeness has turned to lonely … there’s so many reasons to PUT OFF practicing rightness.

I’m saying, “I’m here at this awesome Throne of Grace to receive more mercy and more grace to help me be more consistent in PUTTING ON righteousness; really more powerfully seeing myself as right and holy and blameless all the time … growing into this wonderful rightness that You’ve said I am because of all that Jesus did. I believe I’ll take it. I have it. I thank You, and I WILL to forgive and love as You’ve forgiven and love me … so Mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

