running away? …

I was always an excellent runner. I outran all those around me. I could move faster and more stealthily.

Stealthily? Yes, because I’m not talking about a runner moving towards something, but a runner running from things … like jobs, relationships, bills. If I smelled even the faint odor of failure, I’d turn and run. If I perceived differences taking too much effort to resolve, I was up and outta there. Bills too overwhelming – I was gone.

I left jobs with no resignations, debts unpaid and relationships ignored.

No graceful exit either. I’d just disappear, move away with no change of address. There one day, gone the next.

Then I had the most outrageous encounter with the most awesome Savior, Jesus. The first happening was instantaneous, from drunk with death to sober with life. The ensuing changes were more gradual, but all were from the inside out – all created and orchestrated by my Faithful God.

I’m saying, “Because of You, I don’t run in fear anymore. Because of what You’ve done, I run in faith towards You … the One who’s made me wholly blameless, innocent, and totally right in Your sight through Jesus and His blood. Thank You for delivering me and training me to run to You rather than to draw away from You or anything else in fear. You are my Safe Place. You are my Protection and the one who’s always working a winning way for me. Thank You. I’m going to keep on taking this. I have it, and I WILL to forgive and love as You’ve forgiven and love me … so Mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

HEBREWS 10:19-20, 21-22 … since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way opened for us through the curtain, that is, his body … let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience …   NIV

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

