clay to the potter …

Imagine a potter sitting at his wheel, clothes doused with spattered clay and water, his hands gently molding, pulling, wetting and reshaping the spinning form. Suddenly, arms with hands shoot out of the clay in protest. A mouth appears shouting, “Stop! stop! I don’t like the way you’re making me!”

“Can the clay say to the potter?” (part of a verse – ISAIAH 29:16) surfaced during some extra time I took a while back to be quiet before the Lord … a little more reading, singing, praying; taking it easy, tuning my spiritual ears. Nothing heavy. It was actually a very relaxed 3 days … no heavy fasting and praying 🙂

Those words were actually the sum of what I got as I was listening. I laughed when I heard them cause it threw a spotlight on this inner agitation seething in me at where I am and what I really wanted to be doing. Isn’t NOW always better than LATER? 🙂

Whether it’s a pot or a universe that’s being created, there is a process. Time is involved and “time tries trust”.

God NEVER brings about evil to shape me into something good. He’s not in cahoots with the devil in my education and training. GOD IS GOOD, and He’s good all the time, but in this world I live in right now, resistance and opposition are a norm.

This earth race is about continuing to press against this resistance, coming out a winner in everything. I have to trust God; know what He says trumps anything I can see with my natural eyes; believe He really, really loves me … that He’s into making all the good things I desire come to pass in my life making me whole!

I’m saying, “My job is to keep myself tight with You, give a whole lot of thanks and laugh at the opposition. I can do this because You’re the Greater One in me. All of who You are is in me. With Your mercy, Your wisdom, Your power, Your grace, Your goodness You are constantly molding, shaping and reshaping me so that I’ll burgeon into this most awesome work of Your hands. Thank You! I take this. I have it, and I WILL to forgive and love as You’ve forgiven and love me … so Mercifully. All in Jesus name.”

1 THESSALONIANS 5:16-18   Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in (Note – in NOT for) all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.   NIV

About floodsofmercy

Mother, Grandmother, Business Owner, Someone seeking the most loving, honest, candid, relationship with my God, my family, my friends, and all within my sphere of influence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

